During the government shutdown, only web sites supporting excepted functions will be updated. As a result, the information on this website may not be up to date and the agency may not be able to respond to inquiries.

Updates regarding government operating status and resumption of normal operations can be found at https://www.opm.gov/

Community Preventive Services Task Force Members

The Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF) is an independent, nonfederal panel of public health and prevention experts that provides evidence-based findings and recommendations about community preventive services, programs, and other interventions aimed at improving population health. Its members represent a broad range of research, practice, and policy expertise in community preventive services, public health, health promotion, and disease prevention.

The fifteen CPSTF members are appointed by the Director of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). CPSTF members serve five year terms, with possible extensions to maintain a full scope of expertise, complete specific work, and ensure consistency of CPSTF recommendations.

FAQs about the Task Force

Task Force Members

  • Jonathan E. Fielding, MD, MPH, MBA (Chair)
    Distinguished Professor of Health Policy and Management, UCLA Fielding School of Public Health and Distinguished Professor of Pediatrics, UCLA Geffen School of Medicine
  • Robert L. Johnson, MD, FAAP (Vice-Chair)
    Pediatrics and Director of the Division of Adolescent and Young Adult Medicine at the New Jersey Medical School of the Rutgers University
  • Bruce Nedrow (Ned) Calonge, MD, MPH
    President and CEO, The Colorado Trust
  • Doug Campos-Outcalt, MD, MPA
    Clinical Professor, University of Arizona College of Medicine, Phoenix; Senior Lecturer, University of Arizona College of Public Health
  • Marshall H. Chin, MD, MPH, FACP
    Richard Parillo Family Professor, Healthcare Ethics, Department of Medicine, University of Chicago; Director, Chicago Center for Diabetes Translation Research; Director, RWJF Finding Answers: Disparities Research for Change; General Internist
  • Jamie F. Chriqui, PhD, MHS
    Professor of Health Policy and Administration, School of Public Health, University of Illinois at Chicago
  • John M. Clymer
    Executive Director, National Forum for Heart Disease & Stroke Prevention; Adjunct Assistant Professor, Loma Linda University School of Public Health
  • Ana V. Diez Roux, MD, PhD, MPH
    Distinguished Professor of Epidemiology and Dean Drexel University Dornsife School of Public Health
  • Tista Shilpi Ghosh, BA, MD, MPH
    Director of Public Health Programs and Deputy Chief Medical Officer, Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
  • Ron Z. Goetzel, PhD, MA
    Senior Scientist and Director, Institute for Health and Productivity Studies, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Vice President, Consulting and Applied Research, IBM Watson Health
  • Shiriki K. Kumanyika, PhD, MPH
    Research Professor, Department of Community Health and Prevention, Drexel University Dornsife School of Public Health
  • Gilbert S. Omenn, MD, PhD
    Professor of Computational Medicine & Bioinformatics, Internal Medicine, Human Genetics, and Public Health, University of Michigan
  • Nicolaas P. Pronk, PhD
    Vice President, Health Management, Health Science Officer and Senior Research Investigator, HealthPartners Research Foundation; Adjunct Professor of Society, Human Development and Health, Harvard School of Public Health
  • Patrick L. Remington, MD, MPH
    Professor and Associate Dean for Public Health, School of Medicine and Public Health, University of Wisconsin, Madison
  • Susan Swider, PhD, APHN-BC
    Professor, Department of Community, Systems and Mental Health Nursing, Rush University

Previous Task Force Members