Community Preventive Services Task Force Members

The fifteen Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF) members are appointed by the Director of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). CPSTF members serve five year terms, with possible extensions to maintain a full scope of expertise, complete specific work, and ensure consistency of CPSTF recommendations. CPSTF members disclose potential conflicts of interest in advance, and the Chair announces recusals at the start of the meeting.

CPSTF Members

  • Alison Evans Cuellar, PhD (chair)
    Professor, Health Administration and Policy, George Mason University
  • Stephen Hargarten, MD, MPH (vice chair)
    Professor, Department of Emergency Medicine, Associate Dean for Global Health, Director, Comprehensive Injury Center, Medical College of Wisconsin
  • Wendy Barrington, PhD, MPH
    Associate Professor in the School of Nursing and Adjunct Associate Professor in the Departments of Epidemiology and Health Services, School of Public Health, University of Washington
  • John M. Clymer
    Executive Director, National Forum for Heart Disease & Stroke Prevention; Adjunct Assistant Professor, Loma Linda University School of Public Health
  • Karen Emmons, PhD
    Professor of Social and Behavioral Science, Harvard University T.H. Chan School of Public Health
  • Richard Hamburg, MPA
    Executive Director, Safe States Alliance
  • Susan M. Kansagra, MD, MBA
    State Health Officer and Assistant Secretary for Public Health, North Carolina Division of Public Health
  • Thomas E. Kottke, MD, MSPH
    Medical Director for well-being, HealthPartners; Professor of Medicine, University of Minnesota; Health Services Researcher, HealthPartners Institute
  • Michael A. Lindsey, PhD, MSW, MPH
    Dean and Paulette Goddard Professor of Social Work, New York University Silver School of Social Work
  • Joy Melnikow, MD, MPH
    Director, Center for Healthcare Policy and Research; Professor of Family and Community Medicine, University of California, Davis
  • Lisa Prosser, PhD
    Public Health Policy Researcher; Director of the Susan B. Meister Child Health Evaluation and Research Center, University of Michigan
  • Melissa A. Simon, MD, MPH
    Vice Chair and Professor Obstetrics and Gynecology, Founding Director Center for Health Equity Transformation, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
  • Loel Solomon, PhD, MPP
    Professor in the Department of Health Systems Science, Kaiser Permanente Bernard J. Tyson School of Medicine
  • Sarah Stoddard, PhD, RN, CNP, FAAN, FSAHM
    Associate Professor in the School of Nursing and School of Public Health at the University of Michigan; Director of the Training and Education Core for the University of Michigan Injury Prevention Center
  • Peter A. Wyman, PhD
    Professor and Academic Chief, Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, University of Rochester School of Medicine

Previous CPSTF Members