Welcome to The Community Guide! Let us know what you think of the website by completing this quick survey.

CPSTF Announces New Members Appointed by CDC to Start in 2021 or 2022

The Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF) announces eight public health and clinical professionals who have been appointed by CDC Director, Dr. Robert Redfield to serve five-year terms on the CPSTF, starting in either 2021 or 2022. New members joining the CPSTF have expertise in a wide range of topics including health disparities and social determinants of health, heart disease and stroke prevention, mental health, and substance use – areas that have been prioritized for Community Guide systematic reviews between 2020-2025.

New Members Starting in January 2021

Wendy Barrington, PhD, MPH
Associate Professor in the School of Nursing and Adjunct Associate Professor in the Departments of Epidemiology and Health Services, School of Public Health, University of Washington

Thomas E. Kottke, MD, MSPH
Medical Director for well-being, HealthPartners; Professor of Medicine, University of Minnesota; Health Services Researcher, HealthPartners Institute

Loel Solomon, PhD, MPP
Professor in the Department of Health Systems Science, Kaiser Permanente Bernard J. Tyson School of Medicine

Sarah Stoddard, PhD, RN, CNP, FAAN, FSAHM
Associate Professor in the School of Nursing and School of Public Health at the University of Michigan

New Members Starting in January 2022

Susan M. Kansagra, MD, MBA
Chief, Chronic Disease and Injury Section, Division of Public Health, North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services

Michael A. Lindsey, PhD, MSW, MPH
Executive Director of the McSilver Institute for Poverty Policy and Research at New York University (NYU); Constance and Martin Silver Professor of Poverty Studies at NYU Silver School of Social Work

Joy Melnikow, MD, MPH
Director of the Center for Healthcare Policy and Research; Professor of Family and Community Medicine at the University of California, Davis

Peter A. Wyman, PhD
Professor and Academic Chief, Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, University of Rochester School of Medicine

The CPSTF is an independent, nonfederal panel of 15 public health and prevention experts that provides evidence-based findings and recommendations about community preventive services, programs, and other interventions aimed at improving population health. CPSTF members represent a broad range of research, practice, and policy expertise in community preventive services, public health, health promotion, and disease prevention.